Justice KM Joseph appointed to Supreme Court at last, but will be junior to newly appointed Justices Indira Banerjee, Vineet Saran

[dropcap]C[/dropcap]entre Government after resisting for last seven months the appointment of Justice K M Joseph as the judge of the Supreme Court India, has finally notified his appointment on August 3, 2018. He will have tenure till June 16, 2023.

The Supreme Court’s Collegium consisting of the Chief Justice of India, Dipak Misra, Justice Ranjan Gogoi, Justice Kurian Joseph and Jutsice A K Sikri, had reiterated his name for the appointment as judge of the Supreme Court on July 16, 2018 after Centre government had returned his name for reconsideration in April 2018. Government has also notified appointments of Justice Indira Banerjee and Justice Vineet Saran as the judges of the Supreme Court.

Collegium had recommended their name on the day when name of Justice K M Joseph was reiterated. They will have tenure till September 9, 2022 and May 10, 2022 respectively.

Along-with the aforesaid appointments, the Central government has also notified quite a few appointments of the Chief Justices of the various High Courts as per the following details:

Supreme Court Collegium had recommended above names for the appointments on July 16, 2018.

The Leaflet