Himachal Pradesh High Court designates 17 advocates as senior

[dropcap]T[/dropcap]HE Himachal Pradesh High Court has designated a total of 17 lawyers as senior advocates. A notification to this effect has been issued by the Registrar General of the High Court on March 29, 2019. The following advocates have been conferred with the distinction:  

  • Anoop Chitkara
  • Anand Sharma
  • Ajay Sharma
  • Ashok Kumar Sud
  • Brij Mohan Chauhan
  • Biranchi Narayan Misra
  • Nareshwar Singh Chandel
  • Neeraj Gupta
  • Rajiv Jiwan
  • Rajnish Maniktala
  • Ranjan Sharma
  • Sanjeev Kuthiala
  • Suryanarayan Singh
  • Suresh Chander Sharma
  • Sunita Sharma
  • Virender Singh Chauhan
  • Sudhir Thakur


Only one woman lawyer, Sunita Sharma,  has been designated as a senior advocate.


Also Read: 37 of 105 applicant advocates designated senior by the Supreme Court


The Himachal Pradesh High Court had on December 11, 2018 notified the guidelines for the conferment of senior designation in keeping with the Supreme Court’s decision dated October 12, 2017 in Indira Jaising v. Supreme Court of India. On December 12, 2018, the High Court had invited applications from advocates who were willing to be considered for the senior designation.


Also Read: Advocates with low scores made senior, alleges Kerala lawyer


In 2015, Senior Advocate Indira Jaising had approached the Supreme Court seeking a fair and transparent procedure for the designation of senior advocates. A three-judge bench comprising Justices Ranjan Gogoi (current CJI), Rohinton F Nariman and Navin Sinha in a landmark judgment on October 12, 2017 had ruled that the process of designation would be dealt with by a committee that would follow a point-based format for the assessment of applications.


Also Read: End of ‘face value’ in senior designation, towards transparency in legal elevation


Read the list of senior advocates