BJP MP Om Birla elected as Speaker of 17thLok Sabha

[dropcap]B[/dropcap]HARATIYA Janata Party (BJP) leader and Member of Parliament (MP) from parliamentary constituency Kota (Rajasthan) Om Birla was today unanimously elected as Speaker of the 17thLok Sabha.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi proposed his name today during the Lok Sabha session. Om Birla’s nomination for the Speaker post was supported by all the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) allies. The Congress and Trinamool Congress also supported Om Birla for the post.

Birla possesses an M.Com degree.  He was educated at the Government Commerce College, Kota and MDS University, Ajmer in Rajasthan.

Birla was a member of Rajasthan Legislative Assembly between 2003 to 2014. In May 2014, he was elected as MP for the first time to the 16thLok Sabha. During that time he was a member of several parliamentary committees, including the Estimates Committee, the Committee on Petitions, Standing Committee on Energy and the Consultative Committee, Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment.