The Leaflet

| @theleaflet_in | February 26,2019

A three-judge bench comprising Chief Justice of India (CJI) Ranjan Gogoi, Justices Sanjay Kishan Kaul and K M Joseph has agreed to hear the review petitions filed by Yashwant Sinha, Arun Shouri and Prashant Bhushan against the Supreme Court’s judgment dated December 14, 2018 dismissing a batch of petitions seeking court monitored probe into the Rafale deal. Review petition filed by AAP leader Sanjay Singh will be taken up for hearing together.

Along with the review petitions, Court will also hear correction application filed by the Union of India seeking correction in the relevant paragraph of the said judgment wherein Court made reference to CAG report on Rafale deal having been examined by the Public Account Committee (PAC).

Application seeking perjury proceedings against the Government of India filed by advocate Prashant Bhushan will also be heard along with review petitions.

In the review petitions, it has been stated that judgment does not deal with the petitioners’ arguments for registration of FIR and investigation by CBI. Further, Central Government has blatantly misled the Court and the Court has grossly erred in placing reliance on false averments in the note not even supported by an affidavit.

As the judgment is based on evidently false averments in the note not shared with the petitioners, on that ground alone the entire judgement ought to be not just reviewed but recalled, reads review petition.

Read the Order

Leave a Reply

Notify of
Scroll Up