Anup Chandra Pandey, former Chief Secretary UP, appointed Election Commissioner

THE President of India Tuesday appointed Anup Chandra Pandey, a retired IAS officer of the 1984 batch, Uttar Pradesh cadre, as Election Commissioner.

Pandey’s appointment restores the three-member commission to its full strength, which will now oversee the assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, Goa, Manipur and Uttarakhand next year. The appointment arose after the retirement of former Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora on April 12.

Chief Election Commissioner Sushil Chandra and Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar are the other two members of the Commission.

Pandey had served as the Chief Secretary of Uttar Pradesh under Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and also as the Infrastructure and Industrial Development Commissioner of the state.